PIP eligibility: Who can receive PIP?

Personal Independence Payment (PIP) is on offer to those with long term ill-health. The money is given to help with the extra costs of living with a condition or disability. There is no list of conditions that make you automatically eligible for PIP, the amount depends on how your condition affects you. So, who can receive PIP?

PIP is made up of two parts – the daily living part and the mobility part.

How much you get of each part, or whether you even get both parts, depends on how your condition affects you.

It also depends on how much help you need and how independent you are as a result of your condition.

There are some set criteria that you need to meet though.

READ MORE-  How often is PIP reviewed?

Who can receive PIP?

To get PIP, you must be 16 or over but younger than State Pension age.

You can get PIP with pretty much every disability or condition, as long as you have had difficulties with daily living or mobility for at least three months.

These difficulties must also be expected to continue for at least nine months.

On top of that, you usually need to have lived in England, Scotland or Wales for at least two of the last three years, and be in one of these countries when you apply.

You don’t have to be unemployed to claim PIP, you can get it whether you’re working or not.

If you are terminally ill, you can claim PIP if your doctor or medical professional has said you might have less than six months to live.

You must also be 16 or over and not have reached State Pension age yet.

In some circumstances, those over State Pension age can get PIP.

If you have reached State Pension age and you were already getting PIP and your condition hasn’t changed you can get PIP.

Or, you will get PIP if you have been claiming Disability Living Allowance and you’ve been invited to claim PIP instead.

PIP claimants told to check form as mistakes could cost them hundreds  [INFORMER]
What other benefits can I claim with PIP?  [EXPLAINER]
PIP descriptors: What are the PIP descriptors?  [INSIGHT]

After making your claim for PIP, you’ll have to undertake the PIP test.

Face to face assessments are not possible right now, so an independent healthcare professional will give you a ring and talk you through the questions to see whether you are eligible.

The PIP test is split into two sections, one for each part of the payment.

Each ‘question’ is based on an activity, and the professional wants to know how well you can do that activity or whether you need help to do it.

There are 12 activities in the daily living part. They are about:

  • preparing or eating food
  • washing
  • bathing and using the toilet
  • dressing and undressing
  • reading and communicating
  • managing your medicines or treatments
  • mixing with other people
  • making decisions about money

There are just two questions for the mobility part.

They are about planning and following journeys and physically moving around.

For each activity, there is a list of descriptions and you have to pick which one suits you best.

For example, the question about preparing and cooking a meal has several options from not at all to independently with no problem.

A different amount of points will be given depending on which descriptions you meet.

You need to score eight to 11 points to get the standard rate and 12 or more points to get the enhanced rate.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.